The 2022 Tournament of Books
Is Done

But 2023 Is Right Around the Corner!

The 2022 Tournament of Books presented by Field Notes wrapped with Klara and the Sun by Kazuo Ishiguro as the winner. “I’ll pass on the rooster in physical form,” Ishiguro told us, “but there’ll be a metaphorical one crowing proudly in my heart for years to come.” You can see the championship match here, or use the sidebar on the right to read through the entire Tournament’s matches.

The 2023 Tournament begins in March. To get ready for the big event, have a look at this year’s shortlist, which derives from our earlier long list. To get all the latest updates, sign up for the Rooster Newsletter and(!)/or(?) join our Discord.

And please, help ensure the future of the ToB by becoming a Sustaining Member. It’s no exaggeration to say the Tournament happens because our Members make it happen. (Here are the details about why.)

Follow the Tournament of Books on Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram.

* * *

If you’re new to the Tournament of Books, here’s how it works: Over the course of 18 matches—one each weekday—two works of fiction go head to head, with one of our judges deciding which book moves forward in the brackets, according to whatever criteria matters to them. Along the way, the judges reveal their biases and interests, any connections they have to the participating authors, and, most importantly, an elaborate explanation of how they decided between the two books.

From the eight opening round matches to the four quarterfinal matches through the two semifinal matches—and the potentially Tournament-disrupting “Zombie Round”—our original field of 18 competitors is whittled down to two finalists that will enter our championship match. There our entire judging panel weighs in, each judge picking their favorite of the two final books, and the book that receives the most votes takes home the Rooster.

Take a crash course in ToB lore with “A Brief History of the Tournament of Books.”